Schools closing across north Georgia today


PEACHTREE CITY, Ga. — Schools in Dawson, Lumpkin and White counties are closed today (Wednesday, Jan. 17). Lumpkin County 12-month staff is asked to report at 10 a.m. or when it is safe to do so.

The closings follow a winter weather advisory issued today that remains in effect until 4 p.m. in the following counties: Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Banks, Jackson, Madison, Barrow, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Newton, Morgan, Greene, Taliaferro, Butts, Jasper, Putnam, Hancock, Warren, Upson, Lamar, Monroe, Jones, Baldwin, Washington, Glascock, Jefferson, Talbot, Taylor, Crawford, Bibb, Twiggs, Wilkinson, Johnson, Muscogee, Chattahoochee, Marion, Schley, Macon, Peach, Houston, Bleckley, Laurens, Stewart, Webster, Sumter, Dooly, Crisp, Pulaski, Wilcox, and Dodge.

* WHAT — Occasional light snow. Additional snow accumulations of up to one inch are expected.

* WHERE — Much of middle and east central Georgia.

* WHEN — Until 4 p.m. this afternoon.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS…Be prepared for reduced visibilities at times. Roads will likely become hazardous later today as temperatures continue to fall below freezing.


A Winter Weather Advisory for snow means periods of snow will cause primarily travel difficulties. Be prepared for snow covered roads and limited visibilities, and use caution while driving.


Fetch Your News is a hyper local news outlet that covers Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens, Union, Towns and Murray counties as well as Cherokee County in N.C. If you would like to follow up-to-date local events in any of those counties, please visit us at



Leave a comment

Back to Top

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!